Yard work, leads to ER visit

So it’s Sunday. My only day off of work, this week. Now that it’s spring, finally, I was trying to get the back yard tidied up.

A little background, a couple of weeks ago, I trimmed some trees. This has left a pile of branches on the grass, in the back yard. Today was warm, but with a very strong wind, far too windy to burn the branches. So, I was using some hand pruning shears, to cut the twigs and branches down, to place them in a plastic sack, so I could put them in the trash tonight. Things were going OK until I cut the tip of one of my fingers, with the shears. Funny how a fairly small cut can cause that much bleeding. The bleeding did not want to stop, so after applying pressure, a trip to the Emergency Room was called for.

Eventually, after completing all the necessary paperwork, the Hospital gave me a Tetanus shot. The wound was glued, and a splint and Ace Bandage were applied to my hand. Now I have to take two courses of anti-biotics, for the next ten days.

So, all in all, I did not get much done in the back yard, this week.

Maybe next week …

About KC9PDY

Originally from the UK, now living and working amongst the corn and beans in small town Midwest USA
This entry was posted in Yard Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

